On the fence


There’s a mockingbird on the fence in our very small backyard.   It’s been out there all day, every time I went outside…just sitting there in that same spot, chattering away.  It hasn’t been the least bit bothered by my presence…has looked at me and kept right on chattering.  Even when I chattered back, mocking it (badly, I might add), it paused a couple of times and kept right on.  🙂

I got to thinking though. And yes, my mind works in odd ways sometimes.  But I got to thinking about that phrase ‘on the fence’, and what it means.  There are people who sit on the fence and never choose a side, or at least never voice which side they are on regarding particular issues, be they political, religious, or any other topic that might be controversial at all.  Then there are others who will not only choose a side, but they will never even go up to the fence and really have a look at what’s on the other side.  They’re even really glad that fence is there, in some cases.  Me…I want to tear the stupid fence down and have a block party. Ha ha! 🙂

Meanwhile, I’m marveling at the magnificent occurrence to me of having a mockingbird happily going about its chattering and not seeming to mind my watching in the least.  It’s just one of life’s tiny little pleasures that has brought a smile to my face today.

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On the fence

  1. Anne Sikes says:

    By the way, that’s not the bird in that picture. I found that picture on the web. I don’t have a good camera to take a photo of it. I could take a bad pic of it with my cellphone. But I decided to just try to find a web pic of a mockingbird on a fence instead. 🙂

  2. Thank you Lord for sending my online friend, Anne, a mockingbird to spend the day with her and bring her cheer!

    Enjoyed your post.
    Marilyn

Leave a Reply

