My daughter’s reaction to my nomination for the Sunshine Award


I told my daughter the other day about how my friend faithnibbles had nominated me for an award.  She thought that was really cool, and then asked, “What award was it?”  I told her “The Sunshine Award”.  Her response?  Hysterical laughter. 🙂  I’m laughing now, thinking about it, but wasn’t laughing then.  I admit…I was a little bit offended.

The truth is, it’s kind of funny.  Now mind you, I really appreciate that nomination.  It made me feel really good, at a time when I wasn’t feeling so good.  But my daughter has seen me at my very worst, and a lot of that has been of late.  I haven’t exactly been displaying a sunny disposition around here for awhile.  I’ve been sick, and kind of melancholy…sad about my separation…concerned about some various things that I didn’t know how to work out…etc.

I come here and I try to present myself in the best way possible.  That’s the truth.  Even when I’m not talking about things that are very good that are going on, I’m often trying to say them in a way that is still going to sound the best way that I can say it.  Know what I mean?  Of course you do.  You probably largely do the same thing.  We’re human beings, and we’re not always at our best in life, no matter how much we might like for people to see us that way.

Truthfully, my demeanor, and my attitude has improved of late, even though I’ve still not been feeling at my best, and my world isn’t going the way I’d like it to entirely still.  There have been amazing answers to prayer, new friends, this blog in which I can read other peoples thoughts and share my own.  Even though I’ve been rather isolated, God has still been here with me and I have very much been reliant on His grace to get me through…and it is getting me through.  And this outlet has helped too.

You know that song Brad Paisley wrote awhile back, “I’m So Much Cooler Online”?  Well that is SO true. 🙂  Hopefully though, most of us know that our realities aren’t exactly the way they appear in these typewritten words.  Does that make them untrue?  NO!  This blog is an honest expression of who I am.  It just doesn’t always reveal everything.  But it’s still real…it’s still me.

The truth of a ‘Sunshine Award’ for me, is that it would be more of a ‘Sunshine peering through a dark cloud’ award on some days…on a lot of my more recent days. 🙂  And I remain grateful still.

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Awards, Blogging, Family, journal, Making Fun of Me, Photography, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My daughter’s reaction to my nomination for the Sunshine Award

  1. Jennifer Rasor says:

    Awww Mom, I’m sorry I offended you. I know you know I was joking with the laughter. None of us is sunshine all the time, and if we have to be in our own home something is wrong. It is nice when we can still see and be positive even amidst a cloud of negativity that seems to engulf us at times, but none of us can do that all the time, and that’s okay. Love you! ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Oh Jen! You don’t need to apologize. I was honestly laughing when I was typing that. I got over being offended, and really wasn’t, that much. I know you love me and that your laughter was just messing with me anyway! (Sort of) LOL I love you immensely, and thanks for that apology, but it wasn’t necessary. It’s all good, and I’m blessed to have a daughter like you. Love you!!

  2. Anne, I know that you have SUNSHINE in your heart. It comes through in your writings. We also know that there are times in live when the sun is overshadowed by clouds. That happens in our spiritual lives also, but that doesn’t mean that the sun is not there. 🙂

    It’s difficult on a blog to share personal details, but the months from October 2010 through January 2012 were some difficult times for me. Even prior to October 2010 I was having health issues. There was heartache related to immediate family – son, daughter, and son-in-love. Never had my heart hurt so badly. There were issues on my job, to say nothing of health issues that I was experiencing – doctor keep saying stress and I kept saying had to be more. I was totally exhausted and hurting all over. These issues began to cause struggles in my marriage as well. During those day may love for Jesus didn’t wane, nor my faith in his abililty to heal all that was challenging in my life — I knew he would heal or he would give me the grace and strength to face whatever I had to face. My life seemed to be under a dark cloud and depression was taking control, yet deep in my soul I still rejoiced to know my Lord. The Cross I was carrying was heavy.

    The issues with my children have healed and relationships have been restored — all three! Between November 11 and January 12, all my health issues were finally diagnosised and medication levels were finally perscribed at correct levels. Within a couple of weeks, the exhaustion was gone and the aches and pains were as well.

    My husband’s santification process switched to the fast track and our marriage is stronger than ever. I am his 3rd wife and just a few weeks before I thought we might be headed for serious trouble.

    So God is good – sometimes the sunshine is behind the cloud, but it is still there in the stillness and quietness of our soul. Some days it radiates from us for all the world to see. So I still feel that you are deserving of the Sunshine Award. 🙂

    Love in Christ,
    Marilyn

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Wow! You have truly been through a lot…AND seen God come through as He promises He will too!! I think we’re kindred spirits from the way you describe your struggles. I too feel dark and depressed through some of the struggles…but never lose my faith. And the Psalms are full of David’s struggles in the same way….crying and pleading with God and describing sheer torment and misery and tears and pain…but every time still declaring that he knew God would help him. And he does. I am SO glad for the answers to prayer in your life! They’re coming in mine too, for some things. There are still others that by all appearances, look like they’re headed in the wrong direction. 🙂 But I know God is able. And again…thank you for honoring me in that way. It really did mean a lot to me and brighten up my life at a time when the light in some ways has been dim. 🙂 Love and blessings, Anne

Leave a Reply

