Texas Panhandle


Wide open spaces

Your beauty so long had I missed

Now beckoning me.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Art, Hobbies, Photography, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Texas Panhandle

  1. love, i grew up on a ranch in texas ❤

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Where about? I grew up in a small town north of Amarillo. Haven’t been back in quite awhile. Last time was in November of ’07, which was when this photo was taken, as we were heading toward Amarillo going west on I-40.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      And thank you by the way for stopping by, and for your comment! I apologize for not saying that before. I was distracted by the crunches of these bagel chips I’m munching on…definitely a poor excuse for an improper greeting. 🙂

      • lol, no a totally legitimate reason! & i grew up in Wimberley, TX. south of Austin… but still, something about texas.

        • Anne Sikes says:

          So true! I hated it growing up there with tumbleweeds and never ending wind…and didn’t see the beauty there. It was after leaving when I was in Georgia with my first husband, all the beautiful trees surrounding…but I got sort of claustrophobic. Ha ha…I learned to appreciate the beauty, and there really is a lot of beauty there in those ever-reaching plains. But Texas truly is like a whole other country, like the ads say about it. There are mountains, canyons, plains, ocean, desert…so much to see. 🙂

          • so true. & the hillcountry, is definitely a gem. i’d recommend getting out there if you have the chance. beautiful. & yes, it’s one of those don’t know what you’ve got till it’s gone, things… lol

  2. Anne Sikes says:

    I’ve actually had the good fortune to be through much of Texas. Have never been to Southwest Texas though. I have been to Galveston, down south. We used to take school trips to Austin for the state competitions sometimes, and in various other directions. 🙂 I love Texas. 🙂 And you’re so right about that last statement, too!! LOL Thanks again for your comments, and for taking time to stop by and have a look! 🙂

Leave a Reply

