Regarding my last post: Perspective vs. Truth


I was having some interesting discussion (and fun) about this with some friends of mine who pointed out to me that a truth is absolute, basically.  A perspective is not a truth.  A truth is not a perspective.

Well…I think it’s a matter of semantics.  I do agree that technically and precisely speaking, my friends are correct.  Truth is an absolute, and perspective is not.

And in fact, in talking about my brothers and I, as I used for an example in that last post, their perspective of life as it happened, and mine…are definitely different.  In reality, getting technical about it, the ‘truth’ is, or may be different from any of our perspectives.  Or, at the very least, the perspectives of our parents were different still, than ours.

I still have no problem using that word ‘truth’ to describe MY truth, from my perspective.  I think it’s generally understood.  I may be wrong about that, but I know what I mean and I know that at least some people understand what I’m talking about and even use that same terminology with no objection.

But even if we want to be precise, and keep that word ‘truth’ out of it, my points on what would then simply be talking about ‘perspective’ remain the same, I think.  Regarding relationships, I’ve always said, there’s one side of the story, and the other side of the story, and the truth is usually somewhere in the middle of the two.  But regardless, you cannot dismiss a person’s perspective as being less than true and real to that person.  And because another perspective is different, the same holds true for them.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Family, Opinions, Random Thoughts, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Regarding my last post: Perspective vs. Truth

  1. Lalkrishna Varavoor says:

    i think everyone has their own perspective and they think that is the truth. the real truth lies in the understanding of different perspectives.

  2. Anne Sikes says:

    That was very much the point I was trying to make. I do think there are absolute truths, and absolute untruths in life. But it wasn’t the issue I was speaking of. Thanks for your reply, ‘Lalkrishna’.

  3. Truth is always relative…and relatives well, we’re stuck with ’em, aren’t we? Great thoughts.

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Ha ha! So true on the relatives. I’m sure some of mine feel very much that way about me! 🙂 Thanks for your comment!

  4. arkenaten says:

    I agree with your perspective. Rings true for me. 😉

  5. Anne Sikes says:

    I seem to be having trouble with your comments being thrown into my spam box all the time. Don’t know why it keeps doing that. Sorry for the delay in their posting. I have to go in and mark them ‘not spam’, then approve them. Hopefully it’ll correct itself. Thanks again for your comments…all of them! LOL

Leave a Reply

