The view from two hearts


It’s important to note, I think, that perspectives are different.  They’re always different.  It took me a long time to understand that, but I’ve known it a long time now.  Two people can look at the same picture, or the same situation, and see it two different ways.  It has nothing to do with ‘the’ truth.  It has to do with my truth and your truth…my eyes and your eyes.

Don’t get me wrong…there are some ways in which there’s truth and there’s fiction.  No two ways about that.  But I’m just talking about seeing things differently because we ARE different.  It’s like this for example.  I have 3 older brothers. All of us grew up in the same houses, with the same mother and the same father.  But not one of us see our mother or our father in the same way.  For one thing, the way we were mothered, or fathered, was different for each of us.  It doesn’t matter how fair and balanced parents try to be…parents and children are individuals and it’s just different with each child.

And it’s the same way when two people break up.  Our hearts are different.  Our perspectives are different.  One person’s honest, unadulterated truth can still be different from another’s honest, unadulterated truth of the same situation. 

I just think it’s important to understand that.  I think if people understood that better, for one thing maybe there would be less breaking up going on, and for another, even if there was breaking up, there would be less anger and more understanding.  Maybe I just live in a dream world where that’s concerned.  But I believe what I’m saying with all my heart.  My truth cannot be exactly the same as yours, because I am not you, and vice versa.

Any thoughts?  Am I making any sense?  I’d love to hear your thoughts/opinions, or expansions on this.

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Opinions, Random Thoughts, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

