Dreams vs. Reality


Why does there have to be a difference?  Are dreams bad?  I think not!! Hopes, dreams, plans, goals…all of those are good to have.  But how do you find the balance between your dreams and reality?  Or the dreams that can actually be reality?

Abstract: Where Dreams and Reality Meet

by Anne Sikes

 

I have had some big dreams in my lifetime.  Of course when I was a child I had big dreams to be a concert pianist.  Of course there were dreams of fame and fortune along the way, but I’ve given that up.  Who would want fame in the world we live in today?  They’d have to be a glutton for punishment, seems to me, with the way the paparazzi hounds them and seeks them out to find every unkind or unpleasant moment of their lives to put in print.

I have a dream to have this house…a house that I can walk through in my head.  It’s been that way for a long time.  I used to think I’d have that house someday, because I can envision it so clearly in my mind.  But somewhere along the way I decided, it may wind up having to be my mansion in heaven. Ha ha!  And that’s okay.  It’s not a mansion, but it’s a nice place with a big kitchen and open spaces…and a wonderfully amazing garden outside.

I also have a dream to have a Steinway someday.  Talk about big dreams!! I’ve been told that was an outrageous and frivolous thing for me to want.  Why?  I would certainly play it…a lot!  And if you’re a pianist and have ever played a Steinway, you understand that dream.

There are other dreams I have had in my life.  Some of them have been shot down, very painfully so.  But that’s okay.  And it doesn’t even necessarily mean that I should give up on those dreams altogether.

I was thinking about ‘dreams’, as I’m referring to them…mentioned in the Bible.  Really, the Bible doesn’t talk about ‘dreams’.  But on the other hand, it mentions ‘desires of the heart’, which is the same thing, isn’t it?

Psalm 37:3-5

New International Version (NIV)

 3 Trust in the LORD and do good;
   dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
4 Take delight in the LORD,
   and he will give you the desires of your heart.

 5 Commit your way to the LORD;
   trust in him and he will do this:

So from a Christian standpoint, I think the key to dreams is what we want them for.  Or even not necessarily that, but what would we do with them if we had them?  Are they something we want because it’ll make us somehow feel good about ourselves…draw attention to us and make us better in other peoples’ eyes?  Or would we use those things to glorify God?  Doing so wouldn’t mean we wouldn’t be enjoying them in the process…it’s all about the attitude…the motive in it I think.

Matthew 6:24

New International Version (NIV)

   24 “No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.

That above verse does not mean that you cannot serve God and HAVE money.  It just speaks to your motivation…what it is you’re loving.  Do you love money, and things…even things like dreams?  Or do you love God?  The following verse is often misquoted.

1 Timothy 6:10

New International Version (NIV)

10 For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs.
I don’t know why my font just changed.  But oh well…will go with it all the same. 🙂  That verse is often quoted as saying “Money is the root of all evil.”  It doesn’t say that.  It says the LOVE of money is the root of all evil.
Anyway, as far as my dreams, or the desires of my heart, or whatever you want to label them as, I’m not giving them up.  Even if they’re ones that I think may well live on only in my mind and never become reality.  They’re nice.  Like that house of mine.  Every now and then I walk through it…go into the kitchen and see myself cooking up all sorts of wonderful things for my family that is all gathered around me.  I’m smiling big…we’re laughing and happy.  And sometimes I go out in the garden and just walk around enjoying all the beautiful flowers.  Sometimes I’m kneeling down with my hands in the dirt, planting or pulling up weeds.  I enjoy it there…even when it’s just in my mind.
Love and blessings,
Anne
BibleGateway.com was used for all the Biblical references here.  Many thanks to their wonderful site.
About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Abstracts, Art, Faith, Hobbies, journal, Music, Opinions, Photography, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dreams vs. Reality

  1. Anne Sikes says:

    And now I don’t see the font change in the finished product either. 🙂 It was there when I was typing it. Well…good!! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Dream: Looking for someone « Smokebear

Leave a Reply

