Woman in Red – Challenge #5 (For Marilyn)


I had to do some thinking about this challenge, which was to write about someone who lived in the past that I would like to meet.  My first thought was the Apostle Paul.  I’ve always loved reading his letters in the Bible, and consider him to be one of the greatest figures of the Bible.  He’s certainly a favorite of mine.  But I decided to think a little more and be sure.

My second thought, was to write about Jesus…a sort of obvious choice really, for a Christian and possibly for a lot of non-Christians.

My third thought was Jimmy Stewart.  I absolutely adore Jimmy Stewart.  I used to have almost every movie he ever made, and still watch his movies from time to time and love them enormously.  And I think he was an awesome guy…or seemed to be.  Actually, I figure that if I would’ve been older, or he would’ve been younger, I would’ve been really in love with him.  🙂

But in the end, I decided to write about Mary Magdalene, in the Bible.  Why did I choose her?  Here was a woman who was probably considered like the lowest of the low.  Still today, prostitutes are thought of in that way.  But this woman turned her life around, and loved and was loved by Jesus.  She was part of his inner circle…’hung out’ with him, so to speak.

She seems to me to have been a really genuine, gentle, kind, loving person.  Why was she a prostitute?  Why does anyone go into that life?  I’m sure there are a lot of people who are true, gentle, loving people who fall into that life, as well as other lifestyles that are deemed to be seedy.  And why would I pick her?  I’ve never been a prostitute.  But I am a sinner, saved by grace…just like Mary Magdalene.  And I’ve done some things that would be considered seedy in my lifetime.  Yet, she knew Jesus and was close to him.  She had inside information into what he was like.

Of course, we all have information about what Jesus was like, by reading the Bible and his teachings, and the teachings about him.  But we didn’t walk beside him down the road.  We didn’t sit beside him by a fire at night.  We didn’t look into his eyes.  Mary Magdalene had the privilege of doing so.

What would I say to her?  I would ask her what it was like to be in Jesus’ inner circle.  I’d ask her to tell me what that was like.  I’d ask her about the apostles.  Who was her favorite?  Who made her laugh?  Who irritated her a little bit on occasion? Did they all treat her as kindly as Jesus, or did some of them look at her with judging eyes, or whisper behind her back?  Because I know that as Christians, some of us do those things.  Being a follower of Christ doesn’t seem to exempt people from being unkind, though it should.  It’s supposed to.

I would also want to tell her that her story inspires me in a way, like no other.  It gives me hope in a way, like no other.  Here was this scarlet woman who was shunned by many, but embraced by the Savior, loved and accepted by him. 

I could see myself having a very long conversation with Mary, and hugging her neck when it was over with tears in my eyes….hating to say goodbye.

 

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Faith, Opinions, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Woman in Red – Challenge #5 (For Marilyn)

  1. Anne, this is truly awesome. I enjoyed reading every word and was amazed that we share some of the same choices – Paul, Jesus, and I even like Jimmy Stewart. (My husband does a really good imitation of him. 🙂 ) I have often thought about Mary Magdalene at the foot of the Cross and her feeling for Jesus.

    I really like your expessive writing about talking with her and I could envision two “girl friends” talking and sharing about intimate and special memories in their lives.

    Thank you for taking the challenge and for responding with such a wonderful piece.

    Blessings,
    Marilyn

  2. Anne Sikes says:

    Ha ha! Would love to meet you and sit over coffee…maybe while we laugh at your hubby doing his J.S. imitation. 😀 I’m glad you liked what I wrote. I do think she’d be a really interesting person to sit and visit with. I kind of imagine her like myself in some ways.

    Thank you for offering me that challenge! I truly appreciate it. 🙂

    Blessings!
    Anne

Leave a Reply

