Facades – Challenge #2 (For Skye)


Facades

by Anne Sikes

I saw her smile a crooked smile

as she so often did

Her voice was bubbly, laughter wild

The sadness inside, hid.

I had to look behind the face

She wanted to appear

I had to look behind the eyes

And then I saw it clear.

The broken heart she tried to hide

The restless heart within

The pain inside her deep and wide

Though hid behind a grin.

I saw him walk inside the bar

A burly, tough old bloke.

He looked right past the bartender

And just said, “Rum and coke.”

I watched him closely as he sat

And had himself a few

Our eyes met and I smiled and asked,

“Hello there, how are you?”

He smiled a crooked, tough old smile,

And looked me in the eye.

“What’s it to you?”,Β  sarcastically,

Was his only reply.

I had to look behind the eyes

But when I did, I saw

Much more than what he would have liked,

A pain so deep and raw.

I left the bar, and walking home

I thought about those two

I thought about my own facades

That I try to show you.

Why can’t we just be who we are?

Why can’t we feel the pain?

Why do we have to try to hide?

What, really, do we gain?

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Poetry, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Facades – Challenge #2 (For Skye)

  1. Skye says:

    This is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Exactly the sort of thing I was looking for. Clever Anne!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Well good!!! πŸ˜€ I’m glad you’re happy. A satisfied customer is always a good thing. By the way, do you recognize those eyes in that photograph? They should look rather familiar to you. xoxo

  2. Skye says:

    Nice eyeballs of Dianna, too! πŸ˜€

  3. Skye says:

    And also, I like that you used the word ‘bloke’! πŸ˜€

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I thought I had replied to this before! Anyway…I thought you’d like that! πŸ™‚ I thought of you when I put that word in there. Kept trying to think of something to rhyme, and came up with that and figured it would be quite appropriate for an English gal like yourself. πŸ™‚ xoxo

  4. Anne Sikes says:

    Reblogged this on My Life Uncut…Almost and commented:

    I was thinking this morning of how there’s so much more under the surface with people, than what we see…than what they sometimes even want us to see. I had a friend many years ago who lived in our neighborhood, who when I would see her, always looked ‘stuck up’ and seemed rude and like she didn’t want to be bothered. I would smile and say hello anyway when I saw her, and it turned out as I got to know her that she wasn’t stuck up at all, as she had seemed. She was just incredibly shy. There’s so much in there, under the surface. Made me think of this poem I wrote previously at the request of my friend Skye, who had asked me to write a poem about facades. I don’t care how we ‘think’ we present ourselves honestly. We all still have something underneath that doesn’t show on the outside. Makes me think of that quote I’ve seen so often around Facebook, “Be kinder than necessary, everyone you see is fighting some kind of battle.” Have a good day…Anne

  5. Pink Ninjabi says:

    Love this post. It’s so real and raw. Thank you.

    Pink.

  6. terry1954 says:

    this was very good. i don’t like for people to see i am weak, i guess this is why i hide, but blogging has allowed me to open up in ways i didn’t know i could, yet i am here behind the screen

    • Anne Sikes says:

      We all hide in ways. I talk about how honest and open I am…and it’s true. But I hide too. I hide behind the old pictures of the younger, beautiful me, because I like it better than looking in the mirror and seeing the reality of now. I hide behind the laughter and fun and conversation on here (though it’s genuine), because it takes me away from the pain (physical and otherwise) and struggles of my own life. Thank you very much for your comment, Terry. And I hope you have laughter in your day today. ❀

  7. Beautiful and thoughtful, Anne! I love that in it you looked at the others like God looks at us from the inside, not the outside facade. Often those facades that we have are what people see as hypocritical. I once had someone tell me that as a Christian we should try and hide the effects that illness has caused and put on a smile and keep living each day normally. I found that to be wrong, because it just causes more struggle and depression for the ill person. I would rather share what is going on, and my human failings in it, because when I am weak, God is even stronger, and shines through our struggle. To me it is more important for others to see my humaness, and see how God takes that and helps me through each day. Thanks for sharing you poetry. I love it so much!

  8. Brisingr Red says:

    Looking and seeing… two very different things. You brought out that theme right there πŸ™‚

  9. Pingback: Facades | My Life Uncut…Almost

Leave a Reply

