How did I ‘used to’ do that?


🙂  I know that’s not a very good sentence above.  But, oh well.  It’s how I talk a lot of the time anyway.  And it’s not what this blog is about anyway.

I used to spend hours creating abstract art from photographs…all kind of photographs.  Sometimes I wouldn’t do abstracts, but would just play around with photos and enhance them in ways that I thought were kind of cool.  Anyway, I enjoyed it a lot.  But I haven’t done it in a long time, and to be honest I don’t know if I could do it the same way anymore.  I suppose if I sat there long enough I could.  I used to just try different things, if I didn’t like them I’d undo them, and if I did I still often wasn’t satisfied enough, so I’d do a little more, then a little more…etc. 🙂  It was kind of amazing to see the end products, which usually were so different from the original photographs I began with, that you would never have suspected that the one came from the other.  I’m smiling, thinking about that. 🙂 

Here’s one example, anyway.  First, here’s the original, which was a photograph of a sketch done by a sidewalk artist of my husband and I, when we were on a road trip to Savannah in 2006.

It’s a little lopsided, I know. 🙂  I messed with that and framed it to cover that boo boo, but if I recall, it was this one that I used to create the abstract below, which I called, “Warmth of You and Me”. 

Now would you have ever guessed that photo came from the one above? 🙂 Anyway, from time to time I’ll insert various of my abstracts or photoshops in my blogs.  A lot of the time I don’t add photos at all.  Maybe I should.  I know they do make the blogs more interesting and appealing a lot of the time.  But still…most of the time I just write in these little boxes anyway.

Tonight I’m up late.  Lots on my mind and can’t sleep.  I guess I’ll have to take a nap tomorrow.  For now, I think it’s to the kitchen to make a pot of coffee. 🙂

Love and blessings,

Anne

 

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Abstracts, Art, Hobbies, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

