Caveat to a previous post


I just wanted to make it clear, in my post “Day by Day”, that I was saying I thought ‘publicly’ writing out your thoughts might be a stumbling block, or a discouragement to them.  I want to be clear that I think journaling is very beneficial to a person…especially a person like me who sometimes needs help getting a grip on my thoughts and emotions.  Writing things out…sometimes in just a stream of consciousness way…really helps me a lot.  It also serves as a record to refer to, to see how I’ve progressed, or digressed in ways.  And I think there’s much more chance of progressing if you keep a journal.

I just tend to do most of my journaling in public, so was pointing out that some of it is best left to my own eyes, or perhaps a trusted friend if necessary.  That is, if it is thoughts during a particularly bad, or stressful mood when all I’m doing is expressing negativity, or if it includes details that should be kept private…especially when it involves someone else.  That can be a subjective thing with people too.  I will share more publicly than other people will, and perhaps there are others who will share more than me, though that’s difficult to imagine!  🙂

I also want to say here, that I do not always think it’s bad to share the bad times…that can actually be very beneficial sometimes to others who are perhaps struggling with their own similar thoughts and emotions.  And it’s just good sometimes to get it out.

In essence, I was suggesting caution in public writing.  But that’s for myself…that’s how I want to proceed.  That’s not to say that someone else can’t do as they please.

There…clarified, I hope. 🙂

Love and blessings,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in journal, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

