We’re about to have a ‘come to Jesus’ here!


I’ve heard that phrase several times just in the last week alone.  One of my instructors used it a few times, and just as I was thinking it over last night, someone used it on Facebook last night.  So I decided to do some thinking about what that means…to ‘come to Jesus’.

In terms of that phrase, it’s usually when someone is really irritated at a person and about to let them have it for whatever it was, that the term is used.  “We’re about to have a ‘come to Jesus’, meaning “I’m about sick and tired of you messing with me and it’s about to stop!” 🙂

But what does it really mean, to ‘come to Jesus’?  The Bible says,

Matthew 11:28-31

King James Version (KJV)

 28Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

 29Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

 30For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

And it says…

1 Peter 5:7

King James Version (KJV)

 7Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.

And…

Matthew 7:7-8

King James Version (KJV)

 7Ask, and it shall be given you; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:

 8For every one that asketh receiveth; and he that seeketh findeth; and to him that knocketh it shall be opened.

There are many more passages that indicate a loving Christ, drawing us to him with love, kindness and compassion.  That is the Christ that I know.  But this is also the Christ that I know, in terms of what it means to ‘come to Jesus’…

John 3:14-21

King James Version (KJV)

 14And as Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, even so must the Son of man be lifted up:

 15That whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have eternal life.

 16For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

 17For God sent not his Son into the world to condemn the world; but that the world through him might be saved.

 18He that believeth on him is not condemned: but he that believeth not is condemned already, because he hath not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.

 19And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.

 20For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.

 21But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God.

I will go further here.  What has it meant to me, personally, to ‘come to Jesus’?  It has meant that my life is forever changed.  My Savior walks beside me, the Spirit of God resides within me to comfort and encourage me, and to convict me when I’m wrong…when I sin.  It certainly does not mean that I never sin.  But I can’t do it and be happy about it.

Does ‘coming to Jesus’ mean that your life is infinitely better than every before…wonderful, in fact?  Well…yes, and no.  In terms of it being something that fixes all the problems in life and makes you live a rosy, comfy-cozy, fun and happy existence, it’s a definite no.  Not only is that not the case, but often, the closer you try to get to Jesus, the more the enemy will seek to kill, steal and destroy.  But the ‘yes’ part of that question is this…even with troubles…even with mighty, horrible troubles and hardships in life that make you at times want to lie on your face and cry…being ‘in Christ’, is far, far better than not.  The things you gain are far more than what you lose, or what you might suffer.  The truth is, that I would not trade my life in Christ for anything…not for millions of dollars, or a promised life of happiness and security for all my remaining days.  Having Christ in this life makes it better…inside.  And it also gives me the assurance of heaven, when this life is over.  And oh, how I look forward to that!!


The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly. (John 10:10)

2 Corinthians 4:7-18

King James Version (KJV)

 7But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us.

 8We are troubled on every side, yet not distressed; we are perplexed, but not in despair;

 9Persecuted, but not forsaken; cast down, but not destroyed;

 10Always bearing about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life also of Jesus might be made manifest in our body.

 11For we which live are always delivered unto death for Jesus’ sake, that the life also of Jesus might be made manifest in our mortal flesh.

 12So then death worketh in us, but life in you.

 13We having the same spirit of faith, according as it is written, I believed, and therefore have I spoken; we also believe, and therefore speak;

 14Knowing that he which raised up the Lord Jesus shall raise up us also by Jesus, and shall present us with you.

 15For all things are for your sakes, that the abundant grace might through the thanksgiving of many redound to the glory of God.

 16For which cause we faint not; but though our outward man perish, yet the inward man is renewed day by day.

 17For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, worketh for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory;

 18While we look not at the things which are seen, but at the things which are not seen: for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.

If you have never ‘come to Jesus’, in the true sense, I encourage you…in your own hearts and minds, alone with God, to do so today.  What you gain will be such that you will never turn back.  You might ‘slide back’, from time to time.  Many of us do that.  But turning away from the excellence of the love of Christ in your life?  No.  And I’ll leave you with my favorite Bible passage of all.

Love and blessings,

Anne

Ephesians 3:14-21

King James Version (KJV)

 14For this cause I bow my knees unto the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ,

 15Of whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named,

 16That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man;

 17That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love,

 18May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height;

 19And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.

 20Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,

 21Unto him be glory in the church by Christ Jesus throughout all ages, world without end. Amen.

Note:  All Bible passages were taken from Biblegateway.com , a blessing of a site that I am extremely grateful for.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to We’re about to have a ‘come to Jesus’ here!

  1. What a great message, Anne! I hear this phrase all the time and it really bothers me, because it’s not in the heart or spirit of Jesus Himself! You captured the Real Jesus we want to come to, and why! Thank you! Linda

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Thank you Linda! Both for reading, and for commenting. It’s a phrase that bothers me too…one of those ‘cutesy’ things that I understand completely why it’s used. Cutesy phrases are popular and fun. 🙂 Love you, Anne

  2. oneanna65 says:

    God Bless You Anne.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Haha I say this all the time! And now I will probably have so much more going on in my mind instead of being so flippant about it. Wonderful post.

Leave a Reply

