A Comedy Tonight


This was a poem I wrote last year, July 26 to be precise.  I haven’t written much new material for awhile…have been busy with other things and kind of have set all that writing on the shelf for a good while.  But lately I’ve been reading through a lot of it again. 

I’m posting this poem again not because there’s any particular kind of drama going on at the moment in my life…just something I was talking about recently with a friend, and about taking the drama and finding comedy within it as much as possible.  This speaks along those lines.  I hope you’re all having a wonderful weekend.  It is good to be back. :)

A Comedy Tonight

A tragedy it is, when drama’s left to rule my life

And all about the tears I cry, the worries and the strife

What fun that it can be to take the drama all around

And turn it into comedy and laughter, I have found

~~~

I know that it’s not easy implementing this ideal

The drama that I sometimes have, is sorrowful and real

I know I must allow myself sometimes to frown and cry

To cry out to my God above and ask, Lord when?  Lord why?

~~~

But wallowing is not an option I’ll allow myself

I’ve been there and I’ve done that, now I’ve put it on the shelf

It’s much more fun to smile and laugh, e’en in the midst of pain

And in the end, the difference ‘tween insanity and sane.

~~~

So laugh at me, I won’t protest, when I am feeling blue

But don’t forget that I will do the same regarding you

I do not speak of making fun of pain that’s raw, and real

I have a heart that feels for you, it is not made of steel

~~~

Above all, may I not forget that kindness matters much

Cold shoulders often harden hearts, not so a gentle touch

This is the day the Lord has made…that’s what I’m talking ’bout

I will rejoice, and glad I’ll be, and of His love I’ll shout!

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Comedy Tonight

  1. It is good sometimes to go back and visit previous writings… I do that also… There is much truth in this poem…. food for thought…Diane

Leave a Reply

