Understanding, Acceptance and Trust


I have this deep seeded need to understand things.  I’m always saying those words, “I don’t understand.”  And they’re usually followed by the words, “but I trust God.”  That third word in the title of this…the one in the middle, I guess I’m realizing that I haven’t quite reached.  I have to a degree, but if I’m still consistently saying those words…”I don’t understand”…I think it indicates a lack of acceptance on my part.

That said, I think there are things that I’m not supposed to just accept.  You know the Serenity Prayer, “God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.”  That prayer, I think, is one I should be lifting up every day.  There are things I shouldn’t accept, but should change, whether they’re outside circumstances, or things within me that I need to make changes with.  But as for that acceptance of things I don’t understand it’s very difficult for me.

I can see God’s hand in my life through both the good times and the bad.  I can also see His hand at work in the lives of loved ones.  His love is truly amazing.  I have seen it in amazing ways He has worked out impossible situations…I have felt it in the midst of great grief.  It’s real, and it’s immense.

So then, my prayer is for acceptance…to realize finally that perhaps understanding only really entails reaching the goal expressed in that serenity prayer.  I am here today, right here with what’s before me.  And it’s good.  There are things that are right, there are things that are more than right…that are amazing, and there are other things that are not quite right in my mind, but have potential for me to make good out of anyway.  And there are things I have no control over that God is working out in His way.

We all have free will.  God does not force us to comply to His will, or others to comply with ours either!  But He can work in the midst and make something good out of our choices.  And there again, you have a thing that I don’t quite understand.  Who can understand God’s ways, after all?  They’re so far above ours.  His capacity for love is so far above ours.

I took some time earlier and wrote some things out…not for publication, but just to sort of document how I’ve seen God’s hand in my life through the last several years.  It’s unmistakable and amazing.  I do trust Him.  And while there are other things that I might want to understand, that’s all I really need to understand. 

Lamentations 3:31-33

“For no one is cast off
    by the Lord forever.
Though he brings grief, he will show compassion,
    so great is his unfailing love.
For he does not willingly bring affliction
    or grief to anyone.”

Psalm 136

“Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good.
His love endures forever.
Give thanks to the God of gods.
His love endures forever.
Give thanks to the Lord of lords:
His love endures forever.

to him who alone does great wonders,
His love endures forever.

who by his understanding made the heavens,
His love endures forever.
who spread out the earth upon the waters,
His love endures forever.
who made the great lights—
His love endures forever.
the sun to govern the day,
His love endures forever.
the moon and stars to govern the night;
His love endures forever.

to him who struck down the firstborn of Egypt
His love endures forever.
and brought Israel out from among them
His love endures forever.
with a mighty hand and outstretched arm;
His love endures forever.

to him who divided the Red Sea[a] asunder
His love endures forever.
and brought Israel through the midst of it,
His love endures forever.
but swept Pharaoh and his army into the Red Sea;
His love endures forever.

to him who led his people through the wilderness;
His love endures forever.

to him who struck down great kings,
His love endures forever.
and killed mighty kings—
His love endures forever.
Sihon king of the Amorites
His love endures forever.
and Og king of Bashan—
His love endures forever.
and gave their land as an inheritance,
His love endures forever.
an inheritance to his servant Israel.
His love endures forever.

He remembered us in our low estate
His love endures forever.
and freed us from our enemies.
His love endures forever.
He gives food to every creature.
His love endures forever.

Give thanks to the God of heaven.
His love endures forever.

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Christianity, Faith, journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Understanding, Acceptance and Trust

  1. rach0503 says:

    Thanks so much for posting Psalm 136. Because the lines “His love endures forever” is repeated over and over again, the psalmist obviously thinks it’s important. I’d think we’d all be amazed if we could live according to that line. Our lives would be so much richer, and understanding, acceptance, and trust would fall into place. I want to live like that because I desire to have a stronger relationship with God.
    -Rachel C.

Leave a Reply

