I’m gonna hurt you


I tend to be an analytical sort of person.  Always have been.  I see someone act a certain way and my mind just goes to trying to figure out the reasons why.  I do think there is wicked, and there is good.  But for the most part, I think all of us have a little of both within us.  Some just choose, for whatever reason, to accentuate one of them more than the other.  That said, there are people who do pretty wicked things while hiding under a mask of good too.  And there are people who come off as not so nice, but deep inside, they may have a heart of gold.

Most of us at one time or another know what it’s like to get angry at someone and lash out in that moment of passion.  I know I do.  I’ve done it…more than once.  I’ve either lashed out in words (usually), or one time I started flinging dishes across the room in my anger.  I busted up some nice stuff too…and then just had to clean it up when that moment passed.  And some people lash out with physical violence toward others, of course.

And then there’s the careless sort of hurting people…things like gossiping about them, or just not thinking about what you’re saying to them when you say it.  That’s not really with any maliciousness at all…just something most of us have done, or do sometimes…and it is unfortunate because all that is potentially hurtful to someone.  And I do think hurting people is an unfortunate thing…not just for the person who is hurt, but for the person doing the hurting.

Anyway, there is one thing I just can’t really understand.  I mean, I ‘sort of’ understand, but unless a person is just wicked, I don’t understand how they can consciously and maliciously set out to hurt another person…seek to destroy that person, fully aware of what they’re doing.  And the thing is, I don’t think it’s just wicked people who do that.  I think (coming from that analytical place again) it’s people who for one reason or another, have to feel ‘tough’, and ‘powerful’, or something.  And many times, from my observations, there is deep hurt underneath that facade of power.  I’ve talked about similar topics on here before, I know…that idea of people having to be tough and strong and never give any appearance of weakness.  The first thing that comes to mind here as I type this today is politics…but we all know what that’s become.  But it’s not just politicians.  It’s regular people…you and me who do these things.

I have sort of decided in the end that I don’t have to fully understand everything.  Not that I’m ever going to if I thought I had to. :) Oh, I’ll go on being this analytical person, and regarding individuals who I know, I’ll try to figure them out probably…at least to a point before I just sort of ‘let them be’ in my mind and don’t concern myself with it at all.  There will always be people who live by the motto, “nice guys finish last.”  And there will be others who are more of the “turn the other cheek” sorts.  And of course I think all of us are somewhere in between at one time or another.  Still, my advice is…be good to one another.  If you aren’t, for whatever reason at some point in time, apologize and let it go and move on.  That’s my advice, because life is short, and it matters greatly what we do and how we treat people.  And one action by one person toward one other person can have a domino effect on so many other people, in ways we may never know.

And now, I will finish my coffee and do some studying here in just a bit.  I’ve had 2 nice little walks this morning, and a yummy cherry cheese danish that was really bad for me, but sure tasted good. :)  Have a wonderful Tuesday.  I hope all you meet today are good to you.

Love and blessings,

Anne

 

 

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Faith, Random Thoughts, Relationships and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m gonna hurt you

  1. prewitt1970 says:

    Best wishes to you as well.

  2. Chrystal says:

    “May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be pleasing in your sight…” I have to repeat that a lot…:) but unfortunately, I do that often AFTER I’ve done the “hurtful” thing….

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I know what you mean. And that’s been me too…’going off’, as they say, in some heated moment. And deep remorse follows every time…even when I may feel, or be considered by others to be ‘justified’ in my actions.

      That’s a wonderful verse to remember along these lines. Thank you Chrystal!

  3. I’m very analytical also and I try to see or understand what makes people tick…what makes them the way they are etc. And you’re right that inadvertently we all likely hurt others along the way in our life…and I guess ‘thus it should ever be’. All we can do is try not to as much as possible…Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Very true Diane. I ‘think’ I’m better than I have been in the past about it…but given the right circumstances, who knows? I hope I’d do better, but actually I hope that I’m never tested with it again. :)

Leave a Reply

