Last Poetry Challenge, and a new one…FINALLY! :)


It’s been several weeks since I have done these.  My apologies for the delay.  For the last Poetry Challenge, if you remember I had changed things up and decided to just make it for fun, so there is no longer a true competition…just an offer of a prompt for poetry without the competing.  As it turned out, there was only one submission from Maggie.  Here it is, and thank you to Maggie!!

Skystone Creation
by Anne Sikes

Skystone Creation (a rispetto)
The Ring

A legend chimes some truth and my bell rings.
I feel the depth of turquoise, watch it shine
its message, and I love the song it sings.
What treasure it communicates. How fine

its healing message. Look upon my hand
and see the turquoise circle, small but grand,
that I wear in a ring. It moves my heart,
and with it I know I will never part.

For the Name That Abstract #14, I have derived the name from Maggie’s entry, “O’Keefe Cornflower”.  I love Georgia O’Keefe’s paintings, by the way.  Her flowers are beautiful!  I just shortened the name to “Cornflower”.  Thanks, Maggie…and thanks for all the entries submitted.  They are listed below, for you to use your favorite(s) as a prompt for the new Poetry Challenge. :)

Cornflower
by Anne Sikes

Here is the list of names you can choose from for your poetry.  I look forward to reading your submissions!

Layered Ocean – submitted by Daniel

Sunny Pool -

O’Keefe Cornflower -

Zebra Fish

Shimmering Ocean -

Summer Through A Glass -  5 entries submitted by Maggie

Halcyon Days – submitted by Melissa Hassard

After the Loving – submitted by LBTK (Sandy)

Animals Abound All Around – submitted by Nuts for Treasure (Eunice)

Enchanted Wishing Pool – submitted by Skye

Faces of Evil – submitted by Writerwannabe763 (Diane)

Here is my poem.  I chose Sandy‘s entry, After the Loving, for a simple sedoka.

After the loving

Rose colored glasses turn to blue

But beauty grows in the midst

I will be putting up another Name That Abstract for you sometime later today, so keep an eye out for it!  And remember that there is no deadline for the Poetry challenges.  You can keep writing poems now as much as you wish, and with as many of the prompts as you wish.  I would still appreciate it if you’ll post them below, or link them below, and link this post on ones that you post on your own page. Thanks!!

Love and blessings,

Anne

 

 

 

 

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Abstracts, Art, Fun, Games, Name That Abstract, Photography, Photoshop, Poetry, Poetry Challenges, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Last Poetry Challenge, and a new one…FINALLY! :)

  1. howanxious says:

    Hey Anne,
    Here is my poem on the title- “Enchanted Wishing Pool”.
    That enchanted wishing pool,
    right there within the wilderness
    where all wishes come true,
    still unfound, still a mystery.
    That enchanted wishing pool,
    the stories abound everywhere,
    the myths surround every corner
    but no one knows the secret of
    that enchanted wishing pool.
    Now I think I have finally found,
    the place where it is present-
    it is no where else
    but within our hearts
    yet to be explored,
    surrounded by wild desires.
    It wants us to find it and make
    our all wishes come true
    for once, listen to our hearts
    and just wish from our hearts
    making them all come true.

Leave a Reply

