Name that abstracts, and Random thoughts


I have not forgotten, nor have I decided to quit doing the Name That Abstracts.  So for those of you who enjoy them, I do too, and stay tuned.  Maybe next weekend I’ll put some more up for you.  I’ve just been concentrating on other things lately.  I have a final exam in my MSA class this coming Tuesday and spent a lot of study time today until I had to go make dinner.

Things have been pretty good overall…have had a few setbacks personally, but nothing worth mentioning.  It’s all good.  That’s life after all…hills and valleys.  School’s going pretty well and I’m still excited about it, and really look forward to reaching the finish line with that.  3 months down (almost) and 5 more to go with that.  Then it still won’t be completely done til I take my exam (and PASS it), and get my license and am actually employed with it.  But it seems that God has made a way for this to happen, and I am very grateful and just keeping my eyes focused on the end result.

One of our classes right now is Oriental class.  It goes into Eastern forms of healing and medicine, which is very different than the Western philosophy.  The Western philosophy is that if something’s wrong, you treat what the problem is.  The Eastern philosophy is that the body and soul are all connected, and if something’s wrong with the body, you treat the whole person. 

We were just talking about the elements of nature…you know, fire, water, earth, wood, and metal.  Mine came out to be fire yesterday.  That sort of surprised me, but it was an overwhelming lead over the rest, which were all pretty balanced.  Actually, 3 of the others were the exact same number, and the lowest one was wood, which was only one number lower than the others.  I’m kind of skeptical about some of that stuff, but it’s all very interesting. 

Anyway, the one for fire has to do with fame, and attention, and temper flare ups and strength…things like that.  It surprised me as I said, (notwithstanding the temper thing which is obviously true…as you know if you read my last article).  But my family and home and relationships have always been so much a priority with me, which are supposedly strong in other elements.  The instructor did said that they change at different times.  And that makes sense to me, because right now in my life…this is my time.  I’m actually doing something for me…setting aside other things and focusing on my own goals.  That doesn’t mean by any means that my family and friends and aren’t important to me.  Just that I’m focused on this goal for me more than anything else right now.  And I think that’s okay.  The interesting thing is that this field that I’m working on is a helping profession…so it’s not something selfish by any means.  What I would love doing when I finish and get licensed is working with people in hospice care, and the elderly.  I look forward to it.  If you’ve ever visited a nursing home and seen those elderly patients who often are sort of abandoned by family…the thought of providing any kind of healing touch for them, or for others who are sick and just awaiting that last breath…that’s what I want to do.

I still remember sitting with my mother when she was in hospice.  She was gasping for air…had been for so long that when she finally did pass away, I tried to close her mouth and couldn’t.  But her breathing was very distressed.  I sat with her and read from the Bible to her, and softly sang.  You could visibly see her breathing ease while I was reading or singing, even though she was unconscious.  And it meant so much to me to be with her during that time.  I have a heart for that, and I hope that someone will for me, if I ever reach that stage of life and am in that situation.

Anyway, I guess I should get to bed soon now.  Busy day tomorrow.  Grace is singing with the kids at church in the morning, and she doesn’t know it yet, but her daddy and stepmom and brother and sisters are coming.  They wanted to surprise her. :)  She’s going to be very surprised and very pleased. :)

Love and blessings, and a good night to all,

Anne

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Faith, Family, journal, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Name that abstracts, and Random thoughts

  1. howanxious says:

    Oh, Anne- I think the relation you hold with yourself is much more important than the relation you hold with your family and friends. Doing something for yourself doesn’t make you selfish or self-centered, in my opinion.
    I hope that you get to do what you aspire to do… :)
    Love,
    HA
    P.s.- Good Night… Its a Good Morning for me- well its 10 a.m. right now- wanna do at least something influential for myself today.. :)

    • Anne Sikes says:

      I think you’re right HA…that it’s not selfish to do things for ourselves and take care of ourselves. I have put others first mostly through my life…and there’s nothing wrong with that at all, except when you neglect yourself in the process. I think learning to see myself as someone that I should love and take care of, and make time for along with others, is important.

      Have a wonderful Sunday! It’s almost Sunday now here too…12 more minutes! LOL

  2. take care and good luck with everything – it is a good thing to take care of ourselves too

  3. So glad your schooling is going well. I too have a tender feeling for those in nursing homes. My mother was in for 7 years before passing and we saw so many lonely people that were basically hoping and waiting for someone to visit them. God does not forsake them but people that he entrusts to take care of them do…I used to think of them as the ‘forgotten’ ones…Diane

    • Anne Sikes says:

      So often, that is sadly true. I’ve seen it too. Not long after Ted and I had met, his mother was in hospice too. I sat there with him while she was dying, by her bedside as well. He fell asleep at the foot of her bed, and I had fallen asleep in the chair. I woke up early the morning she died…must’ve been just after she passed. I woke Ted up and we called the nurse in. I figured she had woke me up when she passed. But there were so many people there, as in all those homes, who seem to never have anyone there. And I understand that people have to live their lives and can’t just stay there constantly. But some just never seem to go. I know it can be difficult when your loved one is no longer fully there in their mind…but even then, being there matters I think.

Leave a Reply

