Name That Abstract #13 Poetry Challenge: New Rules


I had typed up a long post, and my computer locked up. (sigh)  Having to start over.

As I said in my other post “Challenges”, I’m changing things up a bit.  There was no winner on either the Poetry challenge or the Name that Abstract this time.  I have chosen Tia‘s name, Skystone Creation, for the abstract.  From now on, I will choose the name from all those submitted, to go with the abstract I have up.  But please feel free to ‘thumbs up’ or comment on any of them.  Then for the poetry challenge, beginning with this one, I will list all of the names, from which you can choose to either title your poem, or use as a prompt.  The challenge will not end…you may submit poems for as long as you like, just for the fun of it.  Please do either post them below in the comments, or link them in the comments.  And if you post them on your own page, please link this post so others who may want to try a poem from the prompts may do so.

As I said, my computer had locked up, but not before I had posted every name except one that was submitted, along with links to whoever submitted them.  Because of that problem and the time I’ve lost, please forgive me for not doing all those links again.  I will give the names of those who submitted the posts though, and you can find their links in the comments section of the original Name That Abstract #13 post.

I really liked the Navajo story Tia posted of how turquoise stones came to be.  Here is that story, and thank you, Tia!

“Legend has it that the Native American Indians danced and rejoiced when the rains came. Their tears of joy mixed with the rain and seeped into Mother Earth to become SkyStone Turquoise.

Turquoise, the “fallen sky stone” hidden in Mother Earth, has been valued by cultures for its beauty and reputed spiritual and life-giving qualities for over 7000 years. It is a true gem of the centuries. A long time ago someone noticed a clear blue line running through gray rock, and saw the imagery of sky and water in stone, and from that time on, turquoise has been cherished above all else in creation – turquoise, stone of sky, stone of water, stone of blessings, good fortune, protection, good health and long life. “

And for those, who like I used to think, believe that all turquoise is blue and green, here are some images from a google search to show you that is not correct.  There are some beautiful other colors.  This search was for red turquoise stones.

Here is a list of the names you can choose from for your poems…again, either as a title or just a prompt.  And thanks for all the names…there were a lot of them…16 to be exact! :)

I’m Melting, Meeeelting. – submitted by Broken Light Photography Collective

Demon Dolphin – submitted by Broken Light Photography Collective

Pterodactyl Punch – submitted by ndzied1

The Scarlet Hug. – submitted by Broken Light Photography Collective

Lizzie the Lizard chasing her tail. – submitted by SwittersB

Embryo – submitted by prewitt1970

Interdimensional Staircase – submitted by Daniel

Blue Blood from Deep Within – submitted by nutsfortreasure

Heartbreak – submitted by nutsfortreasure

Hot Blown Glass – submitted by Maggie

Trail of Mercury – submitted by Maggie

Coiling Cobalt – submitted by Maggie

Cold on Hot – submitted by Maggie

Soul Reflection – submitted by Tia

Skystone Creation – submitted by Tia

Firewater – submitted by miriamtroxler

Here is my poem to start you off, as usual.  Just a simple haiku this time.  :)

Skystone Creation
by Anne Sikes

Skystone Creation

But turquoise is only blue

Oh how wrong you are

About Anne Sikes

"But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not of us." (2 Cor. 4:7) Sharing the journey through daily thoughts and struggles, examination of Scripture, poetry, music and art.
This entry was posted in Abstracts, Art, Fun, Games, Name That Abstract, Photography, Photoshop, Poetry, Poetry Challenges, Writing, Writing Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Name That Abstract #13 Poetry Challenge: New Rules

  1. Anne Sikes says:

    Here’s another one, from Eunice’s (nutsfortreasure) submission, “Heartbreak.” This was written with a friend in mind who’s going through a breakup right now. http://anexerciseindiscipline.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/heartbreak-for-a-friend/

  2. Thanks Anne and sorry for your friends heartbreak we have all been there

    • Anne Sikes says:

      Yes we have. Yeah, the creep used her and took off…same old story. But you’re right…we’ve all been there. Thanks for the great prompt though. Hope you’ve had a good Labor Day.

      • Man doing the work I did and hanging out with who I did I can honestly say I SAW IT ALL :(

        I did laundry, mowed this huge place and held off on painting more as we are about to get some of the left over rain from your storm. They say maybe 3″ of rain shall fall here rivers are low but you never know what will happen

        I went into mountains for my two posts yesterday long day me and the dog did 3 miles slow fast then slow again but it was all up hill and I was passing her on the way back up :)

        I was glad to sit on riding mower today though it still beats my back and hands up.

        So proud of how you did on your test good for you in taking charge of your life and being in control of your destiny!

        xo
        Eunice

        • Anne Sikes says:

          Sounds like you had a busy day!! I had a lazy one. LOL But it was nice. I needed it I think. And thank you for the encouragement! :) I’m excited about the potential for the future…having a career and making my way in this world (thinking of the theme song from Cheers all of a sudden, and wishing I had a beer.) LOL

          • See that! I am a Beantown girl :) Bar has the sign but really without the crew it is just another bar in Boston :) ALL HYPE :) Tourist TRAP though you can drink in there :)

            It is always better when you are strong enough to do it all on your own and then have a special guy to share your strength with :)

            • Anne Sikes says:

              That would be nice…not sure that exists though. At least not in my case. :) I might have to give up the notion of someone with skin, and just settle for me and God…who I know will never walk out on me and who will love me just as I am. But I also know He’s a healer of hearts. :)

            • I hear you I gave up as well and threw myself into work and then he came back to me after 30+ years him with his past me with mine and we found we still carded deeply about each other and had just gone along with life no longer fully honest to ourselves and going through the motions . We were friends then everything to one another to neither of us knowing where each other was but life has gotten so good for last 9 years together again I am blessed I just want it for everyone I know :)

            • Anne Sikes says:

              :) I know what you mean. I’d like to see my kids find someone good…each of them, to make their lives richer. And I would like it too. I’m as human as the rest of ‘em. :) But my son likes his independence and solitude enough that he doesn’t even date much, and my daughters just haven’t found Mr. Right yet. Me…I’m just holding out for whatever God has in store for my life, and not worrying about it. I’ll be okay. :)

            • When you least expect it the answers come, doors open and the perfect ending can appear but you have to get your life to where you are happy with you so you are right and heading in the right direction just fill your days with things that fill you with JOY
              xo

  3. Pingback: Lizzie the Lizard « 20 Lines or Less

  4. Anne Sikes says:

    This one is from SwittersB’s prompt, “Lizzie the Lizard Chasing Her Tail” http://anexerciseindiscipline.wordpress.com/2012/09/03/lizzie-the-lizard/

  5. Maggie says:

    Skystone Creation (a rispetto)
    The Ring

    A legend chimes some truth and my bell rings.
    I feel the depth of turquoise, watch it shine
    its message, and I love the song it sings.
    What treasure it communicates. How fine

    its healing message. Look upon my hand
    and see the turquoise circle, small but grand,
    that I wear in a ring. It moves my heart,
    and with it I know I will never part.

  6. Pingback: Last Poetry Challenge, and a new one…FINALLY! :) | My Life Uncut…Almost

Leave a Reply

